Continuing education is key to staying ahead of the curve and advancing your knowledge as a practitioner. It is also required to maintain your New York State license. Another benefit of membership is Continuing Education record keeping in the New York State Dental Association Registry.
Anthony Ficara, DDS, MS, Chairman
David Mitola, DDS President
Michael Maloney, DDS
Gregory Vallecorsa, DDS
Kendra Zappia, DDS
Continuing Education Requirements for Licensure in NYS
New York State Education Law requires dentists to complete 60 contact hours of continuing education in each three-year registration period.
Dental hygienists are required to complete 24 contact hours of continuing education during each three-year registration period.
The New York State Education Department decides qualified courses. Practice Management courses are not accepted by the State Education Department and cannot count towards the 60 credit total.
To request a CE transcript please fill out the CE Transcript Request Form and the New York State Dental Foundation (NYSDF) will send it to you.
New Dentists in First Year of Practice
Your residency program counts as 60 credits: you are not required to complete continuing education during the initial three-year registration period.
You are responsible for taking the courses mandated by New York State. before your license expires.
Courses Mandated by New York State for All Dentists
New York State Mandated Ethics and Jurisprudence course (once in your lifetime)
New York State Mandated Tobacco Cessation/Oral Cancer course (once in your lifetime)
New York State Mandated Child abuse course (one-time only)
New York State Mandated Infection Control course (every four years)
CPR course: you must maintain a current certificate. CPR course must in person.
Mandatory Prescriber Education
Prescribers licensed in New York to treat humans and who have a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substances, as well as medical residents who prescribe controlled substances under a facility DEA registration number, are required to complete at least three (3) hours of course work or training in pain management, palliative care, and addiction. The course work or training must be completed once every three years, and an attestation confirming completion made to the Department.
Regarding the new Medication Access and Training Expansion (MATE) Act
At the time of your next scheduled DEA registration submission (on or after June 27, 2023 – please note that June 27 is NOT a deadline, but a starting line):
Complete eight hours of qualified training on safe controlled substance prescribing.
If you are up to date on your qualified training, then you are required to take a ONE HOUR course to meet the new requirement. Courses are offered free by the ADA. Please click here and go to PAGE 4 for links to the courses.
If you still need to complete your 3 hour training prior to renewing your DEA license, one of the new required courses counts towards the 3 hours of mandated training.
Check a box on your registration submission affirming that you have completed required training: Narcotic Education Attestation Tracker (NEAT)
Retain copies of all certificates of completion.
Dental Anesthesia and Sedation
To be certified to administer anesthesia/sedation in New York Stat you must:
Be a New York State licensed dentist currently registered to practice; and
meet additional education and training requirements outlined below.
You must file an application for certification and any other forms indicated. Submit all forms, along with the appropriate fee, to the Division of Professional Licensing Services (DPLS) of the New York State Education Department. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send material.
You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.