top of page

About Us

1896 logo.jpg

The Third District Dental Society was founded on January 12, 1868 and incorporated on April 7, 1868 by dentists in the Third Judicial District that comprises six counties, Albany, Rensselaer, Columbia, Greene, Ulster and Sullivan. The district spans the capital area and the beautiful Catskill Mountains of New York State.

Our members practice General Dentistry, Endodontics, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Orthodontics, Pediatric Dentistry, Periodontics, Prosthodontics and Public Health. 

Our mission is to cultivate and promote the art and science of dentistry and to improve the oral dental health of the public.

We are governed by elected officers and an Executive Committee and managed by an Executive Director. Membership benefits include the value of organized dentistry, patient referrals, continuing education, verification of credentials, Peer Review, networking, and an active dental society representing the needs and the interests of dentists in the community.

Services to the public include referrals to member dentists, Peer Review and Quality Assurance and Ethics Committee activity to assist in resolving conflicts with member dentists, and participation in Children's Dental Health Month and Oral Cancer and Awareness

bottom of page